President Cyril Ramaphosa has signed the National Minimum Wage (NMW) Bill into law on Friday, 23 November 2018.

The Bill comes into effect 1 January 2019.

The NMW was meant to come into effect in May but due to issues that arose when the legislation was drafted, it had to be postponed. The NMW is expected to benefit about 6 million workers that currently earn below R20 per hour.

There are a few exceptions to the national minimum wage of R20 per hour, which include:

  • The minimum wage for farm workers will be R18 per hour
  • The minimum wage for domestic workers will be R15 per hour
  • The minimum wage for workers on an expanded public works programme is R11 per hour

Together with the NMW Bill, three other bills were also signed into law on the same day. These are the Labour Laws Amendment Bill, amendments to the Basic Conditions of Employment Act, and the Labour Relations Amendment Bill.

More details to follow soon.

 Contact our legislation team at if you require any additional information.

© 2018 CRS Technologies (Pty)Ltd. All Rights Reserved.